Avocado chickpea salad recipe

Avocados are like candy to me. Seriously. The other day I read about a company that mails you a monthly stash of those delicious green fruits. How perfect! If I wasn’t a cash-strapped twenty something, I’d sign right up! I eat avocados with, on, and in ANYTHING. I realized the other day that I desperately need to include more protein in my vegan diet. I had a can of chickpeas in the pantry and thought… hey! Avocados + chickpeas + a few other good ingredients could be the recipe for a perfect spring lunch. Hence, the avocado chickpea “salad” was born!

avocado

Ingredients:

*this makes two servings!

1 cup chickpeas

1/2 avocado

1/2 cup salsa

1/2 red onion, chopped into small pieces

2 TBSP lime juice

Dash of salt and pepper

Fresh cilantro (to your liking)

 

Mash the avocado with the chickpeas. I like to keep it pretty chunky but feel free to use a food processor if you want a smoother texture. Then stir in the rest of the ingredients. I love cilantro so I definitely added quite a bit. Any salsa will do… I personally love the Mateo’s salsa from Costco or the black bean & corn salsa from Target!

Leave a Reply

